Select Page

Begg Shield

This award given by the New Zealand Iris Society was presented by Mr James Begg of Oamaru in 1974.

It is awarded annually to the raiser of the most outstanding New Zealand bred iris, gaining at least 75 points, seen at a Convention garden. It must be judged by a panel of three accredited judges selected from the society’s list.

To be eligible for consideration an iris must be bred by a hybridiser living at the time of the judging. The winning iris may be a registered named iris or it may be selected as a seedling and it may be any species.

Once an iris has won the Begg Shield it is ineligible for subsequent entry.

In 1976 it was presented to Jean Stevens for her TB – ‘Carnival Spirit’

[click photos to enlarge]

2009 WINNER 'Atavus' Alison Nicoll, 2006

Alison Nicoll, 2006

This iris is a cross between a Siberian and a Setosa iris.

Begg Shield 2013
Awarded at Convention
by Alison Nicoll to Michael Midgley

Stephanie Boot is admiring Michael’s creation. Taylormade Tekapo